Letter to Motherland

In 2018, while doing some random browsing, I came across a letter writing competition. Though I was ineligible to be part of it, the topic excited me. The topic was – letter to Motherland. I wanted to play with my imagination. So I chose to write on it. “2018” – as we all remember was the year of disaster for Kerala. I wrote this letter then in that context. Sharing it after 3 years. 🙂

This letter is written by a daughter to her mother. The mother here is our motherland India (Maa) and the daughter is state of Kerala. In this letter all the states are imagined as siblings and as children of mother India.

Dear Maa,                                               

Hope you are doing great. I begin with apologies for not being able to write to you regularly these days. But trust me I am always surrounded by your thoughts. I keep thinking what can I do for my Maa who has taken all the pain for our happiness? It’s because of the blood stains shed on you, tears that rolled from your head to toe and the courage that you carry in your heart that we breathe freedom today. All your children from Jammu to Tamil nadu and Gujarat to Nagaland are thankful to you for the kind of upbringing you have done for us. Your youngest daughter Telangana too is growing quite fast and has learnt to walk from crawling. Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar are growing so beautiful, just like you!

There is something I need to share with you Maa. I hope like many other situations that you have handled boldly, you will take this news also in the same way. Last month was disastrous for me. I would always write to you about my achievements in literacy, health and overall human development, but I never imagined a day would come wherein I will be writing about my tragedy.

That night when I was asleep, I woke up to see myself under water. Yes! I was attacked by the king of clouds, Meghraj, mercilessly. I was given no chance to defend myself. He kept firing from his guns loaded with water. At least, he could have warned me na Maa? I would have prepared myself to protect my lakhs of children. It was like that surgical strike we carried out on your troublesome neighbour Pakistan :P. It was surprise attack on me. 

Maa, you would always keep saying that “Kerala, you are my favourite daughter among all my children. You are smart and matured. You are like God’s own gift for me.” Then why did your God had to test me this way? I have suffered multiple injuries. But from deep within I am as strong as my Maa. 

It is said God tests the good people. May be that’s why he takes surprise tests of your children frequently. Before me it was Uttarakhand Bhaiya and later our Tamil Nadu Akka who had to face this test. They successfully passed those tests Maa. And So will I. Afterall, Your prayers are stronger than any floods or Earthquake.

The good news is that slowly I am recovering now. I lost some of my children, but I am glad I could save lakhs of them in shelter homes. I was directionless. It’s the help that I received from my siblings that gave me courage to look at things with hope. Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Andhra, Delhi Bhaiyya and many more showed their immense love and support to bring back that smile on my water logged face. Not just that Maa, Your cousins UAE uncle, Maldives Aunty and others were all there to boost my strength to cope up with the situation. 

Maa, in my last letter I had told you about some inhumane incidents and the diminishing humanity that I see. I expressed my anger against growing incidence of violence. But you replied saying, “it’s not what I see and humanity is in blood of Indians.” That’s so true! This disaster opened my eyes. I can’t tell you how much aid I have been getting from people whom I have not even met once. From across the globe, all our relatives, friends kept pouring their wishes for my quick recovery. This incident changed my perspective about humanity. 

Maa, you have always taught us that do good for others and the good will come back to you. All your children follow your lessons. I remember the story of your struggle you used to tell us during our bedtime. We were too young to understand what you might have gone through. Today when I think of those stories I get Goosebumps. Such a strong woman you are Maa. Some just can’t handle your awesomeness. They tried to separate you from your children, even now there are neighbours creating misunderstanding between you and your beautiful daughter Jammu-Kashmir. But still, with all these troubles you stand stiff and don’t bow your head. The lessons of unity, diversity, love, compassion, non-violence, truth, humanity, courage, dignity and being optimistic that you have sown in us keeps all your  children bound by a special bond.  

I hope now you got the reason for why I could not wish on your birthday on August 15th this year.

And Maa, like always all my friends who came to meet me after the disaster saw your photo near my bed and they had the same question again, “what is the secret behind your mother’s charming face? She has gone through so many tough times but still her face glows like a star and her smile is contagious.” I had the same answer again, “It’s her selfless, love filled, beautiful heart that reflects on her face”

Sending some coconuts and your favourite banana chips along with this letter.

Oh Maa! I already miss you. A gentle touch of yours will cure all my problems. A sleep on your lap will burn all my worries. Your dream filled eyes for our better future will motivate me to work hard. Your blessings are all what I need now.  Longing to see you Maa! 

Lots of love!

Your loving daughter,

Kerala.


Leave a comment